RSS Feed Print
Do you outline?
MarieDees
Posted: Tuesday, March 15, 2011 3:59 PM

I have to admit, I'm don't work from a traditional outline. Instead my first draft tends to be a rough run through to get the plot and characters in place. Then I go back and build around it.  

I've known writers who are staunch defenders of the outline process and others who love to create on the fly.  What works best for you and why?

MarieDees
Posted: Wednesday, March 16, 2011 12:29 PM

Well, with this many topics with overlap, we'll probably have similar threads popping up all over the place. For me, an outline would be structure and plot. For others it might be getting started.
LisaMarie
Posted: Wednesday, March 16, 2011 10:20 PM

I go gangbusters on the outline.

First, I studied the overall construction of books in my genre. This involved a lot of "stickies" on the pages to give myself a sense of where the climatic scenes took place.

Then I wrote a highly detailed synopsis. Then I looked over the synopsis to see if the plot had the right ebb and flow and if I'd adhered to the formula specific to this genre. I probably worked on this for about a month before I even started writing the novel itself.

Once I had that structure in place, it was a lot easier to actually write.
KD Sarge
Posted: Thursday, March 17, 2011 2:07 AM

I've found that the more I write, the more likely I am to outline. My first novel was not planned in any way--I just wrote, and when I didn't know what to do next, I threw something random in.

You might guess it's a mess. 298,000 words worth of mess.

Since then I've experimented with outlining methods, but I haven't found anything yet that really fits. Generally, though, I can come up with a decent story while poking at a method that doesn't suit me.
Cynthia Justlin
Posted: Friday, March 18, 2011 10:51 PM