RSS Feed Print
Revealing character through action
Michael R Underwood
Posted: Wednesday, March 16, 2011 2:42 PM

Without dynamic characters, we're just pushing playing pieces around a board of plot, so making characters stand out is critical.

As an action-oriented author, I've been thinking a lot about how characterization through action works.  I feel like I learn a lot about a character through how they navigate through action scenes, be they chases, fights, or disaster scenes.  Here you can show training, discipline, instinct (killer or not) and temperment.

An example here is the most recent Sherlock Holmes movie, where Holmes does lightning-fast fight analysis to determine how to navigate a battle.  Holmes talks through all the details, then when we go back to full-speed, we watch his plan unfold.  

As a reader, do you find you can latch onto or become invested in a character through action?  As a writer, how do you characterize through action?

RJBlain
Posted: Wednesday, March 16, 2011 10:58 PM

For me, it is a very fine balance. When I read, I want a character who is *capable* of action, but uses his (or her) brain to get out of it... if necessary. I like the suspense of a character struggling with inner turmoils and trying to decide the best route.

I also enjoy when a character *can* handle things. However, if all the character does is a string of actions, I get bored. It has to be a good mix. That said, there is often more humor and interest in a character that isn't really all that good at action.

I really rather like it best when they are a coward who is indecisive but makes the choice to dive into the action anyway. These people often don't have the training OR discipline, though. To me, that is where the real candy is at. That hesitation, that sense of uncertainty. That is what makes me care for a character that gets thrust into the action.

Someone more perfect at these things isn't as entertaining for me to read.