RSS Feed Print
Getting Feedback
SMRoffey
Posted: Thursday, November 27, 2014 7:58 AM

Hi, all.  I have been on Book Country for a few weeks, have only had time to review one work (3 kids and a sick brother are making life even more hectic than usual) and post one work.  Knowing that I have only had time to review one makes me completely understand that everyone is in the same boat, but I'm curious how long to wait for a review (it's been posted for I think two weeks with no review) before trying to solicit reviews elsewhere.  I am new to this, so I'm not sure the protocol or the etiquette involved! Should I be posting a link to it on a discussion page, or just wait? Or have I simply put too much of it out there and that's causing writers to think, "uh, no, I don't have time to read 9,000 words..."?  Any help here would be appreciated.  Also, in case you are interested in fantasy, my "short" story is here:

http://www.bookcountry.com/BookDetail.aspx?BookId=7402

and any review, even if it's for just the beginning or ending, would be appreciated as well!

Amber Wolfe
Posted: Thursday, November 27, 2014 9:27 AM

Hey, SMRoffey. This is Amber. You reviewed my WIP Scarlet Crimson a week or so back. Your feedback was helpful. And I just want to say, I'm so sorry for taking so long to reciprocate! I had others I promised reviews to, and you kind of got lost in the mix. Had we connected on the site and you'd messaged me about the WIP, I wouldn't have hesitated to look at it.

So now, I'm promising to make you first on my list for reviews. Hopefully I'll be able to finish the review within the week.

Again, so sorry! Reciprocation is so important on this site. When someone fails to do so, it's a smudge on their reputation (Especially when you promised to reciprocate). I'm going to send you a connections request so this doesn't happen in the future (If you review another of my works or you want another review).

Happy Writing!

SMRoffey