RSS Feed Print
Project (In)fidelity
Lucy Silag - Book Country Community Manager
Posted: Saturday, September 13, 2014 3:16 PM

Last night I was chatting with my friend about how my writing is going. She was impressed when I told her I had 80K words of a novel that I've been working on since NaNoWriMo 2013. I told her that while I was glad to have so many words in my doc, I was also bummed because it's literally just 1 of 4 unfinished novels I've worked on in the last 5 years. And that's not including a nonfiction book proposal (as yet unsold) that I collaborated on for a couple months in 2012. I've put substantial time into each of these projects--each is about 200+ pages (except for the book proposal, which is 60 pages).

I really don't like the feeling of not having finished anything in so long. However, because I work full time, and don't write for my income but rather just my desire to do it, I also feel like it's important for my writing to not feel like a slog--then I just won't do it at all. So I switch around so that I'm working on projects that are engaging for me on the day that I have time to work on it. But that makes me feel like I am not fully committed to one project! And that none of these projects will ever get finished! And that is bad for my self-esteem.

How do you guys deal with this? Any tips?

ChuckB
Posted: Saturday, September 13, 2014 4:00 PM

Lucy, I have abandoned many books over the years. They sit like broken down cars along the side of life's road probably never to be started again. I still have all of them. I've got several on 3.5 floppy disks. I've got folders of typewritten pages stuffed in boxes - that my wife keeps threatening to throw out. I know that none of them will ever see the light of day and that someday I'll put them out in the trash.