RSS Feed Print
Print copies of self-published books
Lucy Silag - Book Country Community Manager
Posted: Friday, February 27, 2015 4:43 PM

Question for the self-pubbers out there: Do you think it's necessary to have print copies of your books? What are the advantages of having some printed up?
Perry
Posted: Friday, February 27, 2015 9:22 PM

I confess i haven't self-published anything yet.

It depends on your book and your market. If you write for an electronic market and sell on-line, an ebook may be the way to go.

My publisher said we might make more money on ebooks than the print books, but we haven't made the conversion yet. In my part of the world a lot of readers in the bookstores, coffee shops, gift shops and libraries still prefer a paper copy. In November I sold a couple hundred dollars worth at a speaking gig without trying; the crowd liked my presentation and I had a box of books along. I am an amateur. We have a professional essayist living east of us who will combine a reading and a short performance by his acoustic rock band and sell a couple thousand dollars worth of books in three hours.

A good friend wrote a children's book, which had to be in paper. He hired an artist and a professional designer, and some other professional help. I think he put about $25,000 into the book up front. He knew his market, recovered his investment within a couple of months, and then proceeded to make some real money on the book.

Th ebook has a place. The print book has a place. 

JanPeac
Posted: Sunday, March 1, 2015 12:07 AM

I self-published "High Strung" as both an ebook and a paperback, and I'm glad I did.  Initially I was only going to do the ebook, but as I talked to potential readers it became clear that some people wanted the "real" book, and simply weren't ebook readers.