RSS Feed Print
Omnicreative pursuits?
NoellePierce
Posted: Wednesday, April 20, 2011 1:05 AM

Hi everyone! I've been noticing a lot of writer friends who are also artists in other areas, such as music, painting, sculpture, and design, and I was wondering how many of the Betafish were, too.

I was an artist first, and only started writing a couple of years ago. Occasionally, my artsy muse takes over and all I can think about is designing projects. Unfortunately, she shoves my Adonis-like writing muse out when she invades. It's frustrating when I have nothing to actually design for, but still can't manage to write. 

Do any of you get (writer's) blocked by other creative endeavors?

x♥x

Danielle Bowers
Posted: Wednesday, April 20, 2011 1:48 PM

My Puck-like coding muse comes out of hiding randomly and inspires me to code applications that have no other use than to make me laugh.

I play the piano and guitar, but with two small children I get about two minutes of playing in before they want to 'help'. That muse is still sulking in the basement somewhere waiting for the kids to start school full time.
stephmcgee
Posted: Wednesday, April 20, 2011 3:39 PM

I have no other talents. It was writing oro nothing creative at all.
Victoria L White
Posted: Wednesday, April 20, 2011 4:43 PM
Not really an art, but I have a lot of side coding/website projects that tend to eat up my time. Currently trying to get a massive convention-related site rebuild done for May so I can get back to serious writing time.
Alexander Hollins
Posted: Wednesday, April 20, 2011 6:37 PM

Also a coder/webmonkey. I get blocked on figuring out how to do things, make them look. I do a little drawing now and then, not well, but ive never been blocked on WHAT to draw, just my skills aren't up to making it happen.

I also whittle and do some impressionistic/shamanistic wood carvings. I have had many times where I've had knife in hand, fresh chunk of wood in front of me, and just blanked. no idea what to do.