RSS Feed Print
Lucy's Nervous-About-NaNoWriMo Thread
Lucy Silag
Posted: Wednesday, October 16, 2013 3:34 PM

For the past 24 hours I've been wanting to chime in about participating in NaNoWriMo on this discussion board, but I wasn't quite sure where my comment would fit . . .

I've never done NaNoWriMo before. I will admit . . . I am NERVOUS!

Anybody else?

I mean, I am excited, and I know I can do it, and I know it's going to be a ton of fun to do it as a group (so excited to cheer each other on!). BUT. Somewhere implicit in those 4 syllables is some kind of commitment to waking up REALLY early (because how else I am ever going to do 50K words in one--rather short, BTW, if you consider the holidays and all the movie premieres--month?).

The waking up early is the part that scares me the most.

Anyway, who else out there is getting the jangly jitters about NaNoWriMo, for this or other reasons?? happy

Let's support each other. Let's get excited!! Together we will overcome our fears!

LS

Nevena Georgieva
Posted: Wednesday, October 16, 2013 4:35 PM

Don't be afraid, Lucy!

I commit to getting you emergency cupcakes at least twice in the month of November to help you beat the midday slump.

Lucy Silag
Posted: Wednesday, October 16, 2013 4:39 PM

This is EXACTLY the type of support I was hoping for! tongueout

niclf
Posted: Thursday, October 17, 2013 2:13 PM

Hello! For some reason I can reply now - it wasn't letting me earlier. 

NaNoWriMo is scary and exhilarating and hard. I've attempted every year since 2005 and only won once, when I actually spent some time planning in October (which I probably should be doing now), and actually managed to get into a good writing routine. But, for every year I've 'failed' I managed to achieve more than I could have done, written more words, discovered more ideas, than I ever could have if I didn't attempt the craziness of NaNo. 

Totally worth it.

Maggie Whiet
Posted: Thursday, October 17, 2013 2:27 PM