RSS Feed Print
Hello! Soliciting feedback on prologue draft
Kate Sebeny
Posted: Wednesday, January 13, 2016 2:04 PM

Hello, all!

I'm new to Book Country and wanted to begin by posting "The Soul of a Sweater." This is a draft of a prologue designed to introduce a novel, "Changing Sweaters." My intent in putting it out here is to elicit feedback about its effectiveness as a prologue. I'm eager to learn what, having read this, readers would expect the book to be about? Does this bit whet your literary appetite? Does it make you want to read the novel it prefaces or just ditch it?

How does the narrative voice of this prologue strike you? The tone? With only this to go on, as a lead-in, a "teaser," would you want to read a whole novel from this viewpoint? What issues, incidents, themes, etc. would you anticipate experiencing in such a story? What do you thing the book would be "about"? 

Enticing? Off-putting? I welcome any and all impressions and input.

Many thanks!

~Kate Sebeny

T.W. Kirchner
Posted: Wednesday, January 13, 2016 4:08 PM

Hi and welcome to Book Country. The Soul of a Sweater makes me think of Dolly Parton's "Coat of Many Colors" song where there is a story behind how her coat came into being made. Changing Sweaters makes me think that the person who owns the sweater is leaving one part of their life behind and moving on.

The title is probably not one that I'd pick up but only because I'm thinking it wouldn't fall into a genre I like--such as paranormal, mystery, or horror. If a demon or werewolf owned the sweater, I probably would take a look. If you DO write one about a demon or werewolf, let me know.