RSS Feed Print
Query--Destiny's Bond
Amber Wolfe
Posted: Sunday, February 15, 2015 6:26 AM

Destiny's Bond isn't ready for submission yet, as I'm still learning Craft--and I've no idea how long it'll be before the manuscript's up to par--but I wanted to flex my brain muscles when it comes to queries. Rather than waiting until the last second, I thought I'd give writing one a go now, to get a feel of how querying Agents is done.

Also, I have a concern. Destiny's Bond is meant to be a four book series--I don't plan to query the first one until the last is finished--but is that wrong? While researching how to query series, I've come across negative comments on doing so, that the first book should stand alone, which doesn't work for me, since I've already mapped out how each book of Destiny's Bond is to go. I've come across debut series from authors in the past years, where the first book is obviously a set-up for a series, and don't work as a stand-alone. So what are your thoughts on this? I understand that querying series is a risk for debut authors nowadays. But what are your thoughts on it?

Is there a chance that querying a series can be done? Or should I leave the series in my desk and write some stand alone titles--short stories, other novels, etc.--to become more known before querying Destiny's Bond? I could really use some advice here.

Anyway, here's my novice attempt at a query:

Dear [Agent],

I'm seeking representation for my 120,000 word debut Epic Fantasy novel, DESTINY'S BOND, where purity and corruption clash in a literal battle of good versus evil.

Set in the expansive and lush world of Drugara, DESTINY'S BOND is the story of Destiny, a dispassionate daemon who binds three souls within her; the goddess, the predator, and the mortal. Defined by a childhood of abuse and manipulation, she toils as a remorseless assassin for the Four Nations, and constantly struggles to remain rational in the face of her predator's blood lust.