RSS Feed Print
1 novel published, more to come...
dhawker7
Posted: Tuesday, January 27, 2015 8:12 AM

Hello everyone,

My name is Dan, I am 40 yrs old. I am married to my beautiful wife Cindy and I am actively pursuing a career in writing, but I know that's an uphill climb. I am new to this web site but not new to writing. I've been writing short stories off and on since I was 14. I recently decided to get back into writing because I had an idea for a story one day and started jotting it down in an email to myself. 6 months later it was finished and published and I couldn't be happier. I was so proud of myself for actually finishing one of my story ideas. I haven't sold many copies, but that's ok because I knew that going in. It's not about selling something to me... it's about creating a world where the reader can be transported to and be immersed in the character's lives. My first book is a story about dwarves, a gem containing a dark, evil entity that was buried for centuries beneath their city and the quest to get it back after their king was mortally wounded during its theft. It is called The Gem of Zyenar
It has mistakes / errors in it but they are few and far between. I realize now what I did wrong and have made corrections within my own writing process to get better so that I don't repeat what I had done before. I am currently working on my 2nd novel which I plan on turning into a trilogy. It's called "Ascension to Hell" and it follows a young man on his quest for self discovery and adventure. It's about the choices we make in life and their effects / consequences on others. I plan on having it published later this year. For an excerpt click this link: Ascension to Hell excerpt

I'd love to hear what you all think. 

Thanks... 

D.R. Hawker

Lucy Silag - Book Country Community Manager
Posted: Tuesday, January 27, 2015 12:02 PM

Hey there @dhawker7! Welcome to Book Country!