RSS Feed Print
Hello from Oregon!
JoannaBartlett
Posted: Sunday, March 30, 2014 9:40 PM

Hello,

I joined Book Country a few weeks ago at the recommendation of a friend. I'm a long-time writer -- but always for businesses and organizations: journalism, public relations, donor communications, etc. I was laid off last summer from my fairly swanky Communications Manager job and have been freelancing since, focusing on non-profit communications. I've also started writing a memoir and getting back into freelance writing.

I've reviewed a couple of books and am reading a couple more at the moment. And I just uploading my memoir in progress, Irrepressible Spirit: http://www.bookcountry.com/BookDetail.aspx?BookId=6487. I'd love input on it.

I'm originally from England and moved to Barbados with my mum when I was 10 (the focus of the memoir), then to the States at age 14, where I've lived in a few different states on the East Coast. Then I hopped to Oregon in 2009 where I've been since--and plan on staying.

My husband and I have a lovely blended family of 4 kids, so getting out to local writer's groups can be hard at times. I'd love to build a community of like-minded writers--online and off--to read and critique each others work. Writing book-length works is new to me, but I'm well trained at editing and proofreading shorter pieces and a story is still a story, no matter its length.

Joanna

Lucy Silag - Book Country Community Manager
Posted: Monday, March 31, 2014 3:37 PM

Hi Joanna! Welcome to the community here at Book Country!

I just sent you a connection request, so that I can be in touch here on the site. Feel free to ask me questions via private message, or of course right here on this thread.