RSS Feed Print
Finding the perfect front cover.
CY Reid
Posted: Friday, May 6, 2011 3:00 PM

Hi BookCountrians (I made that up, but here's hoping it sticks).

I'm in a bit of a pickle, here. I've got a novel coming along really well (it's on here and I'm expanding and editing behind the scenes as I upload new chapters I'm done with), and my plan is to self-publish the thing as an ebook. However, herin lies the problem: I don't want my front cover to look like a car accident in Photoshop.

I have some image editing experience, and a coworker (web designer and artist) has offered to create a cover for me, but I know that his artistic sensibilities don't quite match up with what I'd like it to look like. The advantage of self-publishing is that I can have a cover that I want to release to the public, rather than one a publishing house chooses for me, but the wealth of choices on the web are mind-numbing.

I've tried narrowing it down, but unfortunately the vast majority of book-cover designers have pretentiously minimalistic websites that don't really tell me anything about them, or their work, and it's difficult to picture what the result would be if I was to pay for their services. I'm happy to invest a decent sum in the cover - realistically, I know that in my own experience, seeing a great cover makes me stop scrolling, and anything that leads people towards taking a closer look is worth the capital I allocate to this particular aspect of the marketing mix.

Does anyone on BC have experiences of working with book cover designers, and if so, how do you go about ensuring you've got the right person, for the right price? It feels like an artistic lottery with a three-to-five figure ticket price, and I can't help but feel a little brain-numbed by it all.

El Zilcho
Posted: Saturday, May 7, 2011 8:35 PM

The first thing to understand is that design is not subjective. Style is subjective but design is always objective.