RSS Feed Print
Should I write an unmarketable story? Is there such a thing?
Michael Guarneiri
Posted: Monday, May 2, 2011 10:42 PM

The discussion title really says it all: should I write an unmarketable story? I'm really excited about the general idea, but at the same time, I realize that it's quite possibly unmarketable (as certain elements clash in a way that will do little to attract the masses). What are your thoughts? Should I begin writing? More importantly, what are your thoughts on unmarketable stories?

TEL
Posted: Monday, May 2, 2011 11:40 PM

Well, if you're writing with a career in mind, thinking you'll make it (it being money) as a writer, I have some bad news. You probably won't succeed financially--most people don't. Even successful writers often remain relatively poor and have to work a 'day job' to get by. You should write whatever story you feel passionately about, and if it sells, it sells, and if it doesn't, at least you enjoyed yourself. Best case scenario, you may find your niche and cultivate a group of fans who appreciate your original vision, which, to my mind, is worth a lot more than writing a generic Da Vinci Code thriller and ending up in an airport convenience store, even if the latter path leads to diamond encrusted hot tubs or whatever Dan Brown is in to.
Michael Guarneiri
Posted: Tuesday, May 3, 2011 12:19 AM