RSS Feed Print
HELP! Does this lure you in?
Kristine Ondrus
Posted: Saturday, January 19, 2013 12:02 PM

Hi Fellow Bookies!

I am trying to write a good pitch for my novel, a short bit to get readers interested. My novel is written in third person, centering around Anya. However when I tried to write my hook I couldn't get it right in third person. I thought it would be fun to let loose and write as Anya. Does that matter? Would it bug you? Does this lure you in? Let me know if you love it or hate it. Any tips greatly appreciated!

Hi, my name is Anya and I'm a student at the University of Santa Dominga, California. I'm your average, run of the mill book geek, halfway through my sophomore year of college.  
That is, until one night on my way home from a late lecture I am forcibly abducted from campus. I wake up to find myself in a jail cell. My head is spinning and I can't think. My captors spin a web of insane stories of vampires and werewolves and tell me I sit smack dab in the middle of a supernatural war. Talk about a lot to process in sixty seconds. 
Then I meet Nikolai, a very handsome vampire. I think to myself, things can't be all that bad, or can they?  
Leaving everything behind Id follow Nikolai to Russia where I find out secrets have been hidden from me for my entire life. Walls come crashing down around me and my life does a one-eighty.  
Vampires, werewolves, witches and I don’t fit in anywhere. I’m scrambling to catch up and they keep changing the rules on me. Will I conquer my fears and rise to the top? Will I find love or will I find myself instead? 
If you like action and intrigue with a dash of romance don't pass my story up, it is sure to surprise you. I know it surprised me.

Timothy Maguire
Posted: Saturday, January 19, 2013 1:18 PM

A few quick thoughts:

Try to get us into your plot with the first sentence. It's three before things get going. Do we really need to know Anya's educational background?