RSS Feed Print
Revision help!!!
Turquoise Foster
Posted: Tuesday, September 25, 2012 8:35 PM

Hello! I am new to writing and I do not have hundreds of dollars on editing even though it is an important step in creating a novel. I was wondering if anyone knew any good step editing/revision books? I want to give it a try before I break down and pay someone.
Colleen Lindsay
Posted: Wednesday, September 26, 2012 3:03 PM

Hi Turquoise -

There's a blog post on Book Country that actually talks about several great writing books. This may be helpful to you!

http://bookcountry.com/Industry/Article.aspx?articleId=105104

Lisa Hoekstra
Posted: Wednesday, September 26, 2012 5:07 PM

Hi Turquiose,

I don't have any good books per say (just my text books from uni & etc), but like Colleen says there are tons of great links & suggestions in the blog posts and the discussion forums here. I know Jay has a bunch of links too... 

You could also post your work here with a request for editing help - I've noticed that a lot of people are really quite good at finding the "snags" in a text that has been "polished" by the author... I can also take a look to when I get the chance. None of this replaces the quality editing that a professional editor will do for a fee, but it might help... 

Turquoise Foster
Posted: Wednesday, September 26, 2012 10:01 PM

Colleen- Thank you! I'll be looking at that link in a few minutes. 
Lisa- Once I complete my full MS I will be posting a new draft dedicated for editing purposes. I'm just trying to explore all of the options.  
Steve Yudewitz
Posted: Sunday, September 30, 2012 11:18 AM

Hi Turquoise,