RSS Feed Print
Questions on 'Felt, Saw, Heard'
Amber Wolfe
Posted: Sunday, October 12, 2014 5:34 AM

Okay, I'm new to writing. And I understand that, if possible in writing a book, you should avoid 'he felt', 'he saw', 'he heard'. Right now I am going through my manuscript and omitting these words as much as I can and restructuring sentences that have them. But here is what I want to ask; in what instances can these words remain? I've read a number of books on the subject of becoming a better fiction writer, but none of them have gotten deep into the 'he felt', 'he saw', 'he heard' subject.

Could someone give me some advise on this? Examples of times when these words are usable would be helpful. Thanks!

Ian Nathaniel Cohen
Posted: Sunday, October 12, 2014 5:37 PM
Dialogue, perhaps?  When people talk to each other, they drop those words a lot, and it would sound awkward for characters not to use them when appropriate.  (Especially if a characters is a witness being questioned by a cop, or taking to a psychiatrist/friend.)

--edited by Ian Nathaniel Cohen on 10/12/2014, 5:38 PM--

Mimi Speike
Posted: Sunday, October 12, 2014 5:52 PM

Amber, was it you I promised a review? I promised someone new, and then couldn't remember who it was.

Jay Greenstein
Posted: Sunday, October 12, 2014 9:14 PM

What you mention are what is called filter, or crutch words. It's not that you don't want to use them, it's that used in certain ways they distance the reader from the action.