RSS Feed Print
Pretend You're an Agent: Would you want to read more?
LilySea
Posted: Sunday, September 18, 2011 1:44 AM

Dear Agent,

[Something specific about you] and I thought you might be interested in my 50,000-word young adult adventure novel, Jack.

Born a girl during the Civil War, Jack has been passing as a boy in the slums of Five Points, Manhattan since running away from an orphans' home at age eight. At nineteen, Jack is a young man with ambitions beyond picking pockets and playing poker. Most of all, he longs to see his childhood sweetheart, Lily, again. When the opportunity to steal a diamond necklace for a rich client comes his way he takes it. But finishing the job may require much more than he bargained for--especially since the diamonds are in the hands of Lily's rapacious stepfather, in a rowdy mining town in the Arizona Territory.

I am a freelance writer with many online and print credits in the areas of personal essay and opinion. I have a PhD in English and high school and college teaching experience in writing and American literature. You can find me online at ShannonLCCate.com and on Twitter as LilySea.

Thank you for your time,

Shannon LC Cate

email

phone number

Stevie McCoy
Posted: Wednesday, September 28, 2011 6:18 PM

The first couple sentences kind of have me not interested but when you say she wants to see her childhood sweetheart again. Then I have a question in my mind, why hasn't she seen her already, why was she separated from her in the first place? These are good questions and gives the reader incentive to read more.
I am not an agent but I would probably ask for the first chapter to see what this was about. Though the intro first sentences could be stronger.

Exciting that your starting your queries! Goodluck
nancy lopez
Posted: Wednesday, September 28, 2011 8:57 PM

Hi Lily,