RSS Feed Print
Contractions, Contractions, Contractions!!!
Kay P
Posted: Monday, October 15, 2012 10:24 PM

Hi everyone. I'm new here and I'm still learning how to navigate through Book Country. I read somewhere (maybe someones comment or a link to another article) about avoiding contractions. They said not to use them in your story.

Well, I have a problem with that. I can understand if contractions are not supposed to be used while narrating the story, but what about the dialogue??

For example, my story focuses around young adults. Teens don't even like to write or speak proper English and so using contractions is basically their attempt at being proper (the shortcut way).

Also, a lot of of my townsfolk didn't have the ability to finish their schooling, so I also want to show that off by using dialects and contractions (I want the old people to kind of slur and run their words together...while still being understandable of course). I think that it will make the characters more believable.

Come to think of it I don't remember any of the YA books I read  to use contractions.

What do you suggests? To Do or not To DO?

Timothy Maguire
Posted: Tuesday, October 16, 2012 5:31 PM

In general, I find contractions work very well when used in dialogue. What doesn't work in prose does fit very well in speech. If you sit down and rewrite any dialogue samples without any contractions, it quickly becomes really stilted (you can test this quite easily). As a general rule of thumb, contractions should almost always be in dialogue (unless it's part of the character's voice, of course).

Contractions shouldn't really be part of the prose unless you're showcasing your characters' thoughts. If you're writing something like: 'Alex thought, wibble's a good word', then you'll be better served writing your version in contractions, ie: wibble's a good word rather than wibble is a good word. This makes it seem a little more realistic.