RSS Feed Print
Any good suggestions for SciFi?
Matt Kane
Posted: Monday, May 9, 2011 5:32 PM

I'm relatively new to the Science Fiction genre. I've been told that Asimov's FOUNDATION trilogy is a great intro to the genre. Are there any other must-reads?

Alex Hollingshead
Posted: Tuesday, May 10, 2011 8:07 AM

"Ender's Game" is a good intro to science fiction, although I would stick to that and maybe a few of the sequels when it comes to this author. I can't stand most of Card's later works. They get a bit too political, and I don't care for his politics.

Depending on what level of science fiction you want, here are my suggestions.

A good light story is "The Iron Man", by Ted Hughes. It almost reads like a fairy tale, except about a giant robot during the Cold War. They made an animated film of this one called The Iron Giant (likely to avoid any connection with the comic book hero), and it is one of the greatest animated features of all time.

My favorite science fiction novel is Neal Stephenson's "Snow Crash", which is part of the cyberpunk subgenre. It may not have created it, but it definitely played a role in popularizing it, and it established a lot of the genre norms. Also, the main character is named Hiro Protagonist. Classic.

Another favorite and a good example of New Weird (a fantasy-science fiction hybrid) comes from the ultimate example of the genre, China Miéville, specifically from "The City & The City", which is almost a police procedural novel, except horrific and in a fictional European setting. Also, in America, his new (more straight science fiction) book is coming out in a week, "Embassytown" - it sounds good from the description and early reviews I've read. Great author, no matter what you read from him.

And, of course, in terms of the classics, where to start?

Isaac Asimov's "Foundation", definitely.
H.G. Well's "The Time Machine" would be my choice.
Jules Verne's "20,000 Leagues Under the Sea".
Kurt Vonnegut's "Slaughterhouse Five".