RSS Feed Print
Describing attractive men
JanPeac
Posted: Monday, August 3, 2015 3:45 PM

Hi all,

I'm a mystery writer, and in my second book in the Glass Bead Mystery Series "A Bead in the Hand" I've got a couple of male characters that are attractive. One is a romantic interest of the protagonist, the other is part of a sub-plot.  Describing attractive men is not in my wheel-house so I thought I'd check in here with the romance writers and see if anyone can help me describe these men as more than just "handsome" or "hunky", or if someone can point me toward a good resource, like a web site.  "A Bead in the Hand" is in the MS area of Book Country, if you want to take a look I can point you toward my currently lame descriptions.

thanks,

Janice

hmjmdeleon
Posted: Monday, August 3, 2015 5:47 PM

I just take what I think is attractive and write about it. Like: He had hair the color of cinnamon and eyes as green as an emerald. I wanted to wrap my arms around his slim waist and rest my worried mind upon his broad shoulders. What attracted me most was his kind heart.

You see where I'm going?     

Emma Burnside
Posted: Monday, August 3, 2015 7:14 PM

For a mystery novel, I'd avoid going too over-the-top with descriptions, and I'd keep with imagery that's a bit darker and mysterious, especially if the character is a suspect.  A lot depends on the type of mystery, though.  A cozy is different from a hard-boiled, obviously, and the language should match.  A romantic mystery or suspense can be a little more florid in its descriptions.  My suggestion is to look at some of the writers you admire and who are writing in the same vein.  How do they handle descriptions?  How much detail do they go into and how much do they leave to the reader's imagination?  How do the descriptive words sound when you speak them?  Softer words convey a different visual than ones with harsher sounds, and if you want ruggedly handsome you don't want your words to come across as too soft.