RSS Feed Print
Should have started here!
MLW
Posted: Sunday, April 7, 2013 7:59 PM

Hi Everyone,

I kind of dived into the deep end of this site, reviewing, reading, even posting, but I feel as if I might have gone a little quickly and might have avoided a rather confrontational first exchange with a member if I'd enjoyed all that the site has to offer a little more first.

So why am I here?  I met someone from Penguin at a holiday party for a schmancy lit publication.  I mentioned that I am woking on a fantasy novel, and she mentioned Book Country and encouraged me to join.  It took four months and one false start to gus up the chutzpah, but I did it. . .

So who am I?  I am a former English professor who lives in NYC--I DJ, work in social media intelligence, and am writing a sword-and-sorcery fantasy novel.  I am frank in wanting to write for publication--I want to put something in print carrying the logo of one of the imprints that so enriched my own readerly life. 

Why SAS fantasy?  I was a voracious reader growing up, and this was my favorite genre.  When I become a scholar as an adult I focused ore on modern and contemporary book-length poetry (the so called novel-in-verse). . .but I noticed that all of the contemporary book-length poetry that I liked best had fantastic elements.  Then I taught in the same department as well known sci-fi author John Kessel, I began rereading fantasy more seriously, deciding eventually that I no longer wanted to write poetry (oh yeah, I was a poet up to that point) and would turn my hand to developing a story loosely inspired by Ancient Egypt's 25th Dynasty.  virtually a lifelong student of the ancient world the plotline merged with an alternate world that I first created as a teenager, and had never quite abandoned.

So, um, yeah. . . .
Colleen Lindsay
Posted: Monday, April 8, 2013 6:52 AM

Welcome, MLW!

We're happy to have you here. =)