RSS Feed Print
How do you plan the perfect crime?
CY Reid
Posted: Monday, May 9, 2011 11:08 AM

Thinking this morning about a story I'd originally planned out as a graphic novel, I decided that when the time came for planning and preparation, I'd need a list of the various clues that would lead towards the culprit. I've never written mystery before, and it's a little mind-boggling given the seemingly immense complexity of a good whodunnit.

My initial plan was simply to chart the clues, as I've said, and then plan my plot beats around each of them in sequence, ending with the final lead that would tell my MC who their prime suspect should have been from the start.

I was wondering how the BookCountry mystery-heads plan their crimes and the breadcrumb trail of clues, as I'd like to learn about the various different approaches and if there are any in particular that are more effective than the rather basic one I've talked about here. So, BookCountrians - how do you plan the perfect crime?

Trailer Bride
Posted: Tuesday, May 10, 2011 10:45 PM

That seems like a decent approach. But from my perspective, the perfect crime is one you get away with
CY Reid
Posted: Wednesday, May 11, 2011 8:54 AM

Damn, that's a valid point. That'd be a terrible book, unless it was something along the lines of Ocean's Eleven.
Alexander Hollins
Posted: Wednesday, May 11, 2011 7:15 PM

If you are going to plan the crime itself out, do it right.

Is the crime intentional? Then first, plan out the crime from the criminal's point of view. what did they want to do, what research did they do. how did they prepare? what chain of events did they do hile doing the crime? that may also tell you a few places they may have left clues.
Robert C Roman
Posted: Sunday, May 15, 2011 3:08 PM