RSS Feed Print
I am a new writer!!!
Vishnudas Soman
Posted: Friday, June 12, 2015 9:58 AM

Totally new to this area, what can I do? How can I start writing an Action Comedy?
Vishnudas Soman
Posted: Friday, June 12, 2015 10:04 AM

How can I bring in humor to the dialogues?

Amber Wolfe
Posted: Friday, June 12, 2015 3:05 PM

Hi, Vishnudas! Welcome to Book Country

You're a new writer, huh? Looking for advice on how to harvest your potential? Great!

Here's what to do first: Read and write. A lot. Study Craft and the different techniques professional fiction writers use. Get your hands on some 'How to Write Fiction' books, such as Dwight Swain's, Techniques of the Selling Writer,  Jack Bickham's, Scene and Structure, Debra Dixon's, GMC: Goal Motivation & Conflict, and Writing Fiction for Dummies.

These are the books I drew off of when I was practicing and studying Craft--and I'm still learning, even as I write my first novel, Destiny's Bond. If you absorb these book's knowledge on fiction, and utilize the techniques in your own writing, you'll be well on your way.

As you go on your journey, don't ever stop writing--you have to practice to become proficient, as all Writers must. It's the only way to nurture and discover your unique Voice and Prose.

You're interested in writing Action Comedy, correct? Then first off, start writing and reading that genre. As time passes, you'll find yourself getting better and better--while you're learning POV, Character Development, Story Arc, Pacing, Plot, and all the other aspects of good fiction writing, you'll need to write, otherwise those tools won't do you much good.

This might all seem very daunting, but if fiction is in your blood and heart, you'll study and practice until you flourish.

Oh, and as for bringing humor into dialogue? Well, that takes practice, too. For some, natural sounding dialogue comes easy. For others, it takes a lot of work to make dialogue sound right.