RSS Feed Print
Do I misunderstand the term?
Mimi Speike
Posted: Wednesday, April 22, 2015 2:50 PM

I could google it, but I want to know the general opinion. My idea of character development is the fleshing out of personalities. With reactions, with personal histories, with all kinds of non-essential to forward movement stuff. But I observe that others feel it is a character growing over the course of a story, from struggles, etc., part of the story ARC. I am not much taken with story ARCs either. Many books I adore construct a world in which not a whole lot happens.

My editor tells me I am short on character development. She says, fine, you have written a picaresque novel, all fun and games and no clear goal. She's got that right. 

Folks, what is your conception of character development? Educate me as to why it matters. I just don't get it.

Amber Wolfe
Posted: Wednesday, April 22, 2015 8:59 PM
Hi, Mimi.

Well, as you know, I'm still learning the ropes of Craft. I've not had any fiction published yet, but I'm thinking--hoping, really--that I've gotten the hang of Character Development. Emphasis on the 'hoping'.

As far as I've been able to comprehend, Character Development is as you expressed below: A character growing over the course of the story through struggles, etc. Whether they change for the better or the worse is the question.

BUT--and I do mean 'but' in capitols--there are stories where characters don't change over the course of the novel or series. I've read some of them--I thought they were fun and that the characters personalities were fleshed.

What I mean is, the characters in these novels have already gone through hardships and have already developed their 'growth', so to speak.

So, to sum up, there's two types of Character Development that I know of (Seasoned writers probably have more):

1. Where the characters grow and change throughout the story

2. Where the characters don't change at all