RSS Feed Print
Pseudonym or Real Name?
ElenaK
Posted: Thursday, February 19, 2015 9:21 AM

Hey there, fellow writers.  A friend of mine was reading through a draft of my memoir and strongly urged me to avoid using a pseudonym.  He argued that not using my real name would alienate my readers and make me seem unreliable and deceitful.  I tried to defend my choice by explaining that, while everything in my story is true, I changed my name for the following reasons:

1) I am a high school teacher, and high school students love to google their teachers.  While I don't mind sharing my personal story, there is a fair amount of "adult" content in my memoir and I would prefer to keep that part of my life separate from my professional one.  

2) It's actually so much easier to write about myself this way because I can pull back from the story and look at it from a different perspective and be more objective when I need to.  I can't be critical of myself if I see my name splashed all over every page.  Writing under a different name just works better for me in that respect.

He still insisted I change everything back to my real name and said that no one will want to read my story otherwise.  

Thoughts? 

Amber Wolfe
Posted: Thursday, February 19, 2015 9:51 AM

Of course you can use a pseudonym instead of your real name. That's not deceitful at all. Many fiction writers use pseudonyms instead of their real names--myself included; Amber Wolfe's not my real name--when publishing, for the reason you stated: to keep your personal life separate from your professional one. I assume it goes the same for memoir writers.

Do as you think is best. Keep your pseudonym if it's what makes you most comfortable. People will read your story, so long as it's well written, interesting, and marketed right. And how would the readers know you're using a pseudonym? Unless you tack 'This Isn't My Real Name' on the Book Cover, no one will know.