RSS Feed Print
Anyone used AuthorHouse.com to get published?
Steven Lowe
Posted: Friday, January 18, 2013 6:13 PM

Greetings, I am a newbie to BookCountry and have been sitting quietly in the dark corner of the site, sipping on my Crown and Coke, watching, taking notes and just soaking it all in.

I have been on the phone with a rep from authorhouse.com and am looking at their publishing package for my book. I am working on a non-fiction book on backpacking and am excited to get it published.

Has anyone here had any experiences -be it good or bad, with AuthorHouse or anyone used AH to get a book published?

I look forward to hearing from anyone who has.

Timothy Maguire
Posted: Saturday, January 19, 2013 9:23 AM

Hi, I haven't personally used AuthorHouse, but I did some quick internet browsing and I'd have to say I'd avoid. In fact, I'd try to have as little to do with them as possible. They seem to be a vanity press in the worst way.

There's many review/ discussion/ complaint websites out there detailing some very iffy practices from AuthorHouse. It seems to be company policy to not tell authors their sales figures (thus making it impossible for them to work out how much their royalties are) and there are numerous complaints about additional fees and charges once the publication process has begun. In addition, there are frequent complaints about their quality and timetables.

One disturbing factoid I saw about them was from a 2011 financial statement. Apparently, 63% of their income is from services sold to authors. I'll be honest and say that any publishers that only make 37% of their income from actual booksales should be avoided in the first place.

Finally, their prices seem surprisingly high for what they're offering. Compared to BC's own ebook packages (yup, blatant plug), its own ebook deal seems far more expensive with only some vague extras that I wouldn't have a lot of faith in.
Steven Lowe
Posted: Saturday, January 19, 2013 2:53 PM