The Governess--Book One: The Trilogy | A Huntington Saga Series Novel

By Ellise Weaver

Draft 13 Posted Date: 9/5/2014

Book Rating (current version):

Be the first to rate this version of the book.

Book Rating (all versions):

Based on 4 Reviews


Historical Romance

Word Count:


About the Book:

Lovely, inexperienced Miss Carly Blakemore, only nineteen years of age, is received at her first post as governess for two precocious children, ready to love them as her own. But her biggest challenge will be their father; masterful and strong in everything—especially his kiss. Poor and without dowry—and even worse—now orphaned, Miss Carly Blakemore is thrown into the Victorian world without aid. Carly is forced to seek a position as governess in the house of Lord Huntington, the Earl of Dunfordshire—a man alone in his own right—and under suspicion for the tragic murder of his well-known and adulteress wife. His governess’s honesty and forthrightness quickly offend his noble person, finding himself reeling from her constant evaluation of his lack of parenting skills. However, in the midst of his resentments, he finds himself strangely drawn in by her very no-nonsense ways that drive him to madness. Carly stands her ground in head-to-head battles of will that take her to the brink of dismissal. Carly and the earl continually fight the feelings growing between them. Both are oblivious to the clouds of deceit and intrigue that are growing around them bent upon removing the beautiful, headstrong governess permanently. A final chase upon the seas bound for...

About the Author:

New author, Ellise Weaver, tells us stories of Victorian England... A Romantic Age. ELLISE WAS BORN AND RAISED in Idaho, U.S.A., and was educated, fell in love, and married there. After getting married, she moved with her husband to Eastern Idaho where they are now raising their three children. Ellise began writing after facing a bout with breast cancer. It became her outlet, and she has enjoyed working on her newest talent she believes a loving Father in heaven has blessed her with. The Huntington Saga Series has nine novels: The Governess (Volumes One, Two, and Three; The Trilogy; and The Governess Novella #1); Pirate Bride; Elspeth Was Her Name; Creighton’s Daughter; and Jonathon’s Revenge. Look for these novels and more in the coming months ahead on Ellise’s website below. The Governess—Book One: Volume One, Volume Two, and Volume Three each reached #1 on in the Religious & Inspirational Romance category less than one month after being released. All three books reached top ranks in the U.S.A. as well. Ellise has been amazed that she has sold over 20,000 copies of The Governess when she thought that she’d be lucky to sell even 50 books to family and friends. But she has been so very thrilled and astonished at the support she has received. Please consider sharing Ellise’s work with others. See how you can help by creating a buzz by following this link: Ellise loves to hear from her readers on her website and her blog at:

Author's Note:

The Governess is published and now available on Amazon, Kindle, and CreateSpace. It is part of The Huntington Saga Series Novels which includes nine different stories. This saga starts with Book One, The Governess (Volumes One, Two, and Three; and The Trilogy; as well as The Governess Novella #1); followed by Book Two, Pirate Bride; Book Three, Elspeth Was Her Name; Book Four, Creighton's Daughter; and finally, Book Five, Jonathon's Revenge. I hope you enjoy the Huntingtons and their loved ones. Happy reading!

Requested feedback Criteria: Overall Feedback, Voice, Pacing

Peer Reviews

Review of

Delete Review

Show More
View More Comments

Show More
Delete Comment
Report Abuse