RSS Feed Print
Personal Experiences
Kimberly Kiehne
Posted: Tuesday, June 7, 2011 5:03 AM

I am curious how many of you are using personal experiences in your MS, even if they are altered a little?  In my book Shifting, I have had some of the dreams and experiences that I wrote about. I am just curious if its a good idea to use them?
amberh
Posted: Wednesday, June 8, 2011 3:04 PM

I do, all the time. It helps me by basing a certain experience that my characters are going through on something that happened in real life, whether it's a profession or an interaction or anything like that.

I do try to remove specifics, especially if it was a real-life experience with others, though. That's too close. Sometimes all I need is the feeling from a past experience that helps give a bit of a pop to a scene that I'm writing.
ME Chick
Posted: Friday, June 10, 2011 10:43 PM

A lot. Since most of characters begin my stories at college grad age, I constantly think back to my experiences in college and my early years in the military. Not only does it give me the realism I want, but it gives me a real connection to my MCs. When I write, I even put on music from those years to jog more memories.
Tawni Peterson
Posted: Thursday, June 16, 2011 6:26 AM

I pull from life experiences often. I agree with Amberh, sometimes all it takes is an emotional memory to trigger something to write from.
I imagine whether intetionally or not every writer's personal experience seeps into their stories.

In theatre, it is often said that it takes 7 years for an emotional memory to go from trauma to drama. I am not sure I agree entirely; I don't think it has to be that long before you can experince perspective that allows it to become dramatic rather than just re-living the trauma of a memory. Still, I think having some distance from a personal experience I am pulling form is a helathy choice for me.
CarrieM
Posted: Monday, June 20, 2011 9:53 PM