RSS Feed Print
Chained To Fantasy
Charles Dove
Posted: Monday, May 23, 2011 11:16 PM

Not sure if this is the appropriate topic for this post, but I was just hoping to get feedback on writers being stuck in a genre. What I mean is, once you've written a Fantasy story, is the expectation that every story you write will be Fantasy? Do most authors feel tied to a particular genre? Has this been the case for any of you here on Book Country?

Thothguard
Posted: Tuesday, May 24, 2011 12:50 AM

While SF and Fantasy are my first love as a reader and writer, I have written in other genres. I think many authors prefer one genre over another, the ole write what you know and love what you write thingy...

The thing is, a writers audience will sort of dictate what the writer does best and since publishing is a business, the writer more often than not stays where their work sells the best...
stephmcgee
Posted: Tuesday, May 24, 2011 3:12 AM

Everything I've read on industry blogs and related places indicates that authors tend to and are often encouraged to stick to a genre. They might create a couple of different worlds to bounce back and forth between but their audience is there. I see many authors debating the use of pen names on their blogs and such. The most common argument in favor of such (next to writing steamy romance that you don't want your friends and family to know about) is the whole writing in multiple genres thing.

Right now, being un-agented, I'm exploring. I tried my hand at steampunk and at romance. The romance drove me nuts in many ways because that was the only plot, getting those two people together. The steampunk fizzled for plot issues as well.

Fantasy is where my imagination can really let loose and have free reign. (Heck it seems that's the only thing people can latch on to when they read my contemporary fantasy, that they love my imagination but little else is said about the book's plot or characters.)