RSS Feed Print
How much of a book to post?
VC
Posted: Monday, February 3, 2014 8:29 PM

I'm a newbie here, and baffled by all the STUFF on this website. Would love to get some feedback on my writing but I understand I must do a peer review before I can post, and I haven't found a book to review yet that is within my parameters of interest . Not really very into or qualified to review children's and teens, violence, horror or supernatural freaks etc. 

I could use some guidance here. 1. Are we reviewing published books? How can we tell the status? 2. How much of my ms must I submit? (An entire book is asking a lot of the reviewer, who also may have a life and some writing to do in addition to my needs.) Also my book is unfinished, but has about 1,500 typed pages written, not yet edited via the "slash and burn" technique I use and find most effective. So can someone give me a thumbnail view of how this process works, and where to start?

--edited by VC on 2/3/2014, 8:30 PM--

Linnea Ren
Posted: Monday, February 3, 2014 10:49 PM

What genre are you writing for? 1,500 typed pages is a lot, even for the longer genres like science fiction. 

What I have to say to you is ignore what you do and do not enjoy. Just review. The more you read, and the more you critique, the more you learn. Just because you don't like a genre, or don't find interest in it, doesn't mean you can't learn from it. So go out of your comfort zone. As for posting what you have, if you know what you need to cut, do that before you post any here. That way you can post more and it won't be overwhelming.

If you don't know what to cut, post a small section, like three or four chapters and see what people say about the writing. They might be able to point out some things you can cut.

Most people don't review a whole story anyway. I've posted mine, which is about 110,000 words, and the farthest anyone has read and reviewed is through chapter 1. So don't worry. People will look at how much they want to.