RSS Feed Print
How to respond to that one star
Kenley Tan
Posted: Friday, September 2, 2011 12:27 PM

Okay, I'm a rookie and my first review here is a one star.

It feels bittersweet actually. I finally got what I wanted. Someone to tell me what was wrong. The problem is that it feels over killed.

How do I properly react to it? I always get the same thing. It is confusing. Maybe I formed a barrier against logic, but I feel it is a bit vague.

I just want to ask three questions.

How do I properly respond to getting the lowest possible rating here?
How do you get advice from the one that gave you a bad review to improve?
How can you PM someone here? I seriously don't know.

Jay Greenstein
Posted: Sunday, September 4, 2011 3:04 AM
First, you remember that we all start out not knowing which end of the crayon goes on the wallpaper. And remember, too that we all write crap and we all write gold. We just change the ratio as we do.

Part of the problem is that we all leave school certain that the only thing we need to be a successful wrier is an idea and talent. After all, we all know how to write—or think we do. And because we do it never occurs to us that the library has books on writing technique that we might need to look at.

And like you, I used what I knew and started writing. But unlike you, because there was no Internet, I churned out six novels, certain that I was close and getting better before I learned there was more to it than just writing what came to you. Then, I bit on a scam agency. The good part was that they were selling high priced editing services so they had a, “Send us your first few chapters and a chunk of money and we’ll evaluate it,” offer. I sent in the manuscript, and waited, sure I was going to see lots of punctuation suggestions and a, “Great story idea.”