RSS Feed Print
The Doubting Game
Lynn Montagano
Posted: Monday, February 18, 2013 4:31 PM

We all go through it. Those gut-wrenching moments when you stare at your MS for the zillionth time and that creeping, nagging bit of self-doubt starts yapping. I've been writing and rewriting and editing my book for two years. I've broken up with it so many times I'm surprised it still takes me back at all. 

I'm having one of those 'break-up' moments now. That's one of the reasons why I posted a small part of it on this site. Maybe if I let it meet new people and have a bit of a social life, I won't be so frustrated with it when I go through another round of revisions and polishing. 

What do you guys do when you're ready to break-up with your book? 

Lynn =)

Herb Mallette
Posted: Monday, February 18, 2013 4:49 PM

I took about five years to write and revise the first book in what I planned to be a trilogy. By the time I was done, I was so ready to write something different that I couldn't go on to the second book (in addition to having no idea where the protagonist's personal growth arc would go if I had continued). A few rejection letters from publishers convinced me that it wasn't going anywhere in its current condition.

So I put it in a drawer and moved on to other projects. It's now waiting for the day when I'm a successful full-time writer (or retiree) with enough available free time to get back to it. I haven't broken up with it. It's a part of me -- of my development as a writer -- and there's enough good stuff in it that I'm comfortable I can go back and mine it to good effect once I'm at a point where I'm stuck for something to work on.

When I do get back to it, I know that I'll be able to approach it with a genuinely fresh perspective -- much more like an unbiased independent reader than a heavily invested author.