RSS Feed Print
Maintaining confidence in your writing.
Damian
Posted: Friday, September 9, 2011 4:17 PM

How do you maintain confidence in your writing?  Do you ever read a book in your genre and think, "that was awesome!" and consequently get discourage because your own writing isn't up to par.  I'm a new writer with no training past the little I remember from grade school.  My grammar is horrible and I couldn't punctuate myself out of a wet paper bag.  Still I like write, from pictures books to YA, both of which I have posted on this site. 

stephmcgee
Posted: Friday, September 9, 2011 8:07 PM

Ah, a writer's dilemma.

I faced this exact same question a few years ago and it caused me to put my writing on hold. I face it often these days, but I work through it.

This would be four years ago now that I faced this and let it stall me. At that time, I had the opportunity to meet an author whom I greatly admire. (And wish I'd thought of his books first.) I asked him if he ever felt like his books were crap when he read something written by someone else.

He said yes, all the time. But that you have to let it push you to be a better writer, to work harder.

I saw him again this year. And I couldn't help but tell him thank you. Because of his words not only did I finish the book I'd shelved at the time that I'd asked him that question, I've written 3 others as well.

Granted, none of them are published yet. BUt I'll get there. And reading the works of others should never do anything but push us to be better ourselves.
Jay Greenstein
Posted: Saturday, September 10, 2011 12:39 AM
• I'm a new writer with no training past the little I remember from grade school.

Okay, are you bragging or complaining

My point is that you’re justified in feeling that your work doesn’t compare to theirs. So what? You’ve already defined the problem: You need to fill your toolbox with the same tools they’re using. Then, with your talent free to spread its wings, who knows where you can fly to?