RSS Feed Print
Writing out of revenge
ladyjane
Posted: Tuesday, August 2, 2011 9:56 PM

Hey, BC! I'm Jane, new to BC, just joined today. I have a question for the more experienced writers: have you ever written a story out of revenge? Based a character on someone who did you wrong? I would love to write a story like that, but I'm afraid of libel. Should I just forgive and move on, or get literary revenge?  I'm a new writer, so I respect any input.

LisaMarie
Posted: Thursday, August 4, 2011 4:39 AM

I personally would not go there for several reasons, starting with ethical reasons. I also don't think that it's a healthy catharsis. If someone's done you wrong, you owe it to yourself to TELL THEM, face to face. Anything less is passive-aggressive.

From an artistic standpoint, I can't see how these types of books or short stories can be written from an objective standpoint insofar that the writer is still in a "victim" mode, and this tends to come across loud and clear.

What I have done is taken unique personality traits/quirks of people who I wasn't too keen on IRL and incorporated them into more loathsome characters at times. That can actually round out the characters and give them more depth.
Danielle Poiesz
Posted: Friday, August 5, 2011 2:34 PM
I think most of @LisaMarie points out here is very wise. I think it's a good idea to avoid writing out of revenge...IF it's work you plan on sharing with others.

But I will say that I think writing can be a useful catharsis. I was in a similar situation a few years ago and I needed to get out what I was feeling--writing felt like the natural way for me to do it. So I did write a short story--some of which was very true-to-life, some of which was entirely made up. But I didn't share it with the world to get feedback It was for my own personal catharsis and helped a great deal.