RSS Feed Print
POV in fantasy
Maya Starling
Posted: Monday, May 6, 2013 5:14 PM

Which POV is prefered in Fantasy Genre and which heavily frowned upon?

Since I'm relatively new to writing and didn't have any opportunities for real creative writing workshops (I'm from Croatia), I'm a bit lost on this subject, between Third, Omniscient Limited and just Omniscient and how different the last one is from head hopping?
RJBlain
Posted: Tuesday, May 7, 2013 11:15 AM

This is a pretty complex question, but I'll take a stab at it (you can also go down to the bottom of my response to see a blog post that covers some of this stuff too.)

But, There are more POV types than third, omniscient limited, and omniscient.

First person is perfectly acceptable, but often frowned at for epic fantasies -- it's less common than third, but if done well, works well with the fantasy genre.

Second should only be reserved for a choose your own adventure book, and truth be told, I'm not very fond of this point of view type.

Omniscient is head hopping. It's an anything goes POV type, in my opinion. Omniscient limited is just being closer to the POV type you're in at any point in time. As a general rule, I dislike the use of omniscient since it is confusing to read more often than not.

Multi-Character Third person limited, however, is a totally different beast than omniscient. This is when you have a limited third point of view in one scene, but you have multiple POV characters. This is NOT omniscient as most people think of it. Why? You have one point of view in each scene, section, or chapter. The POV shifts are noted by a break or a switch of scenes.

Omniscient is often viewed as head hopping (and is head hopping) because the shifts between the POVs happen at the writer's will within a scene.