RSS Feed Print
How is the opening?
Atri
Posted: Monday, December 9, 2013 9:54 AM

I am a newbie writer, trying to finish my first book. Its a horror book with two novellas. I have finished the first draft of both but after that I came to know about not using 'was' and other sorts of things. I want to write a great book, but editing mine to the real standard is getting more difficult with time. I am really worried about it. Please help me.
Here's the opening of my first story named Dead or Alive-

Gradually, the Stygian murky clouds assembled over the northern sky. Painted in a transcendental scarlet shade, the fading day wrapped the Earth in its own magical charm. The day’s breathless revelry had exhausted all of us by now. I gazed out through the bus’s window; the pulchritudinous panorama of nature’s meadows was my greatest consolation right now. The twilight had already died into a faint dusk and the distant horizon glittered with the dying rays of the sun through the overcast sky. Time fleeted carelessly as we sat chattering, singing and playing sweet pranks on each other.
So, what do you think of this? I wont ask how good it is coz already too many people have rated it the worst. At first I was advised to use thesaurus but when I did use it, people keeps telling me not to. So, please help me with my writing. I believe I do have some plots(like Eternity and Titan Cruizer series) worthy to be made a book on. And I wanna write, I want people to appreciate my writing. Help me please.
I am also on facebook- www.facebook.com/atri.arcruiser.kundu 

Lucy Silag
Posted: Monday, December 9, 2013 10:31 AM

Hi, Atri! Welcome to Book Country, and thanks for posting on the Discussion Boards about the opening of your horror novel.

Just to make sure other BC members can find you, you should consider posting an intro on this forum, too. And when your book is uploaded and ready to be reviewed on Book Country, be sure and make an announcement here.