RSS Feed Print
Hindsight Query
Tawni Peterson
Posted: Tuesday, July 12, 2011 10:47 PM

This is my first attempt (revised) at a query letter for Hindsight. Input/insight on how I might streamline this (or whether or not I need to) is greatly appreciated.

HINDSIGHT is a Literary Fiction Novel with Romantic elements, complete at XXXX words.

Embittered and battle torn by years of infertility Claire and Grant Carter find themselves on opposite ends of the chasm of barrenness.  At a crossroad of love and loss, Claire travels home to Louisiana, leaving Grant behind in a wake of silence and bitterness.

Claire’s mother’s battle with Alzheimer’s takes a terminal turn for the worse leaving Claire to wrestle with the demons from her family’s past. She is caught entirely unaware when she runs into her college sweetheart, Nicholas Ainsworth. Face to face for the first time in twelve years, the question of what might have been haunts them as they struggle to manage the inexplicable bond they clearly share.

Claire must call upon strength she never knew she to face everything about her history she has tried so hard to forget.  The love she ran from, but never let go of, the secret she has never spoken of, and the voice of her mother resounding in her head. An unexpected choice is hers alone; follow the road not taken, or fight to save her marriage.

I am the mother of four children; Two I enjoy on a daily basis, and two I hope to meet someday, on the other side of this life. I have a B.A. in Theater Arts and a minor in Psychology. This novel is my debut effort. Thank you for your consideration.

Tawni Peterson

Elizabeth Sogard
Posted: Tuesday, July 26, 2011 3:29 PM

Hi Tawni!

Your novel sounds like there is a lot of strength and determination to be had. To get it there I think there are some things you will want to consider.

You use many cliches. One would raise eyebrows, but you have more than that.