RSS Feed Print
Cover Art
Charles Shell
Posted: Wednesday, July 6, 2011 4:26 PM

I've got one novel all ready to epublish.  My question is whether or not to wait a bit longer to create cover art.  I'm a graphic artist, so I can make my own, but it'll take time as well as a bit of money (for models, etc.)  Do you think it's worth it to wait for cover art, or should I go ahead and epublish?

MarieDees
Posted: Wednesday, July 6, 2011 6:28 PM

I'm not sure I'm fully understanding the question. If a novel is published, it really does need to have a cover. If you self-publish, then you need to provide the cover, either by doing it yourself or by hiring a cover artist. If a publisher accepts your work, they provide the cover. But you'd include cover with the novel when it's published. You don't add it later.
Charles Shell
Posted: Thursday, July 7, 2011 12:36 AM

I was wondering whether I should just put some 'temporary' art/design on there now or wait until I can do better.

Randy Attwood
Posted: Friday, July 8, 2011 8:02 PM

I would think you would want your best effort to be your first effort. I'm of the belief that buying an ebook is much an impulse buy and the cover needs to help trigger that response.
snurf
Posted: Friday, December 16, 2011 12:37 PM

BY ALL MEANS....WAIT UNTIL YOU CAN DO A GREAT COVER...the cover is your best promotional tool. Since you're a graphic artist yourself, you likely won't need my services, but you might find my article on the BOOK COUNTRY BLOG interesting - 'Collaborating to Make a Great Book Cover' http://bookcountry.com/Industry/Article.aspx?articleId=123728

Annabelle R Charbit
Posted: Wednesday, September 19, 2012 5:18 PM

Once you start promoting your book, people will start to recognize it with whatever cover you use. So use your best cover. At least use a cover with which you are happy for the long term promotion of your book. Good luck.

David R Bennett
Posted: Tuesday, January 22, 2013 9:20 PM