RSS Feed Print
What is your writing process?
Samantha Jane
Posted: Saturday, May 28, 2011 12:41 AM

I'm fairly new to the "hoping to publish" game, but I feel that it's important to have several pieces of work at the ready, so I decided, after I finished a final first draft of my first novel, that I would work on 4 other stories simultaneously, b/c at that point, I didn't want #1 to be #1. Yeah, my head hurts.
Here's how it goes.
WiP #1 Maybe This Time. ten chapters are posted here. I am revising as I go, b/c my computer hates me, and it's easier to retype the whole thing. The critiques have helped immensely, helping me cut 10 more pages off!

WiP #2 The Long Way Home--The Regency England story inspired totally by Lady Gaga music is complete in the roughest of drafts. I've uploaded a couple of chapters, and will keep posting as I finsh. I've already gotten rid of pages and pages of bleh just revising from paper to computer.  (Oh, yeah, I usually start out with paper and pen then put everything on the computer)

WiP #3 Just Dance (working title) Inspired by music and dance. Twenty chapters are written. One chapter is currently posted on BC in its roughest form, NO rewrites at all.

WiP: #4 Calendar Girl (I HATE that title). Working on one specific chapter for each month, as to how the holidays in each relate to the storyline. There are scenes but nothing connecting them.

WiP #5 The second book in a series. It follows WiP #1. Scenes are written to music, some stuff is in the computer.

So, I've got a lot going on, and although I didn't describe my technique as well as I wanted to (I outline, but I don't follow it. I have arts and crafts night to collage for each character to get some images flowing. I don't do much general research before I start, I just vomit my mind and go back figure out what I need), I think you get the general idea. I like chaos. 

But what about you? What do you do?

Jay Greenstein
Posted: Sunday, May 29, 2011 8:25 PM