RSS Feed Print
Standing Desks?
Lucy Silag - Book Country Community Manager
Posted: Friday, January 9, 2015 11:19 AM

Is anybody doing the standing desk thing while they are writing?
Leslie J Portu
Posted: Friday, January 9, 2015 3:05 PM

Yes! I recently purchased a combination treadmill/standing desk and I can't say enough about it. It is great! As a writer I would spend hours on end sitting, which, as we have come to know, is not good for one's health. Now when I write I either stand or walk at a slow pace and it has totally changed the picture. I no longer get stiff and sore. And during the winter months, staying in motion helps ward off the cold. Nothing made my hands more freezing than holding them over a keyboard for the entire day. I highly recommend looking into it if you haven't already.
Amanda Kimberley
Posted: Monday, June 29, 2015 6:59 PM

My cousin has one. She uses it while she is composing music. I think they are a great idea, but they are not for me. My fibromyalgia illness prevents me from standing or sitting for long periods of time. I tend to use my sit-down time for writing because I enjoy my cushy office chair LOL!
Kawasaki
Posted: Friday, August 28, 2015 9:44 AM

I've been standing working (writing) for years now. Here's what I've learned.

It's important you don't always stand: alternate between standing and sitting. To do this, I raised my work desk on wooden blocks and added a small (folding) table to rest the keyboard on so that I can type comfortably while standing and typing. 

I bought a high chair  and use a plastic laundry basket upturned to rest my feet on, so that I can also sit and type. I use a mat with foam glued on the bottom to stand on to lessen the strain on my feet. To sit, I remove the mat and replace it with the foot stand and move the chair into position. This takes a few seconds to arrange.