RSS Feed Print
Linear Writing Vs. Non-Linear Writing
Shelbie
Posted: Monday, May 12, 2014 6:00 PM

I'm just starting out on a book now, based off a plot I've had in my head for some time, but I'm having the problem of figuring out where to start. My main concern is getting opinions on whether it's more beneficial to write in a linear fashion, from beginning to end, or to write excerpts of a scene from here or there, and then later piece them together. I've got so much muse for certain scenes that I want to write, but I feel like I should start from the beginning and work to that point instead of writing it. I'm afraid once I write that interesting and exciting scene, then I'll lose the muse to go back to the 'filler' parts inbetween.

Advice?

Jay Greenstein
Posted: Monday, May 12, 2014 11:59 PM

It depends on the writer. I knew a mystery writer who started at the end and worked forward. I know others who have a habit of sketching in a scene then going back and putting notes of things that must be started or foreshadowed there, while writing other scenes in detail. If you have it plotted tightly, and know what will happen in every scene you can jump around.

But in general, most people tell the story as the story occurs, because as you change or add characteristics to the characters to make a scene work, it changes later scenes, which means a lot more rewriting might be necessary.

If this is your first novel I'd suggest trying it this way: