RSS Feed Print
New to writing? Ask any and all questions on this board!
Lucy Silag
Posted: Monday, February 10, 2014 12:28 PM

We started this board to make sure that our members have a place to ask anything and everything they might be thinking about as they start writing.

Beginning writers are very welcome on Book Country! Let's use this thread as a general introduction space for new writers to meet and start the conversation.

Lucy Silag

Book Country Community and Engagement Manager

calicocat88
Posted: Tuesday, February 25, 2014 1:11 PM

I have only been seriously writing for about six years and haven't had much guidance except from what I've learned on my own through experience and techniques from favorite authors. Right now I'm studying "Conflict" and for some reason it just isn't sticking to my brain. My main problem is discerning the differences between "Motivation" and "Conflict." For example, in the book I'm studying, the author mentions goals (which I understand) and then internal/external motivation, prime motivating factor, prime motivating incident, and internal/external conflict. So...my question is what exactly is the difference between all of these?

Thanks!

Calico <3

Twinkle
Posted: Thursday, February 27, 2014 1:13 AM

Lucy Silag wrote:

We started this board to make sure that our members have a place to ask anything and everything they might be thinking about as they start writing.

Beginning writers are very welcome on Book Country! Let's use this thread as a general introduction space for new writers to meet and start the conversation.

Lucy Silag

well,so good 

Lucy Silag
Posted: Thursday, February 27, 2014 9:20 AM

Hi Twinkle! Welcome to Book Country! Just sent you a connection request. Let's be in touch so that I can help show you around the site and answer any questions that come up for you as you are looking around and getting involved in the community.

See you soon on BC!

Lucy

Lucy Silag
Posted: Thursday, February 27, 2014 9:30 AM