RSS Feed Print
Query - A New Day at Midnight
Michelle Hiscox
Posted: Tuesday, July 9, 2013 12:48 PM

I would like to get some general feedback on the query letter for my paranormal romance novel. 

It's my first attempt, both the novel and the query, and I'd love a few critical eyes. 

For those that respond, I extend my thanks and appreciation!

Submissions Agent

I am seeking representation for my paranormal romance, A New Day at Midnight, set in late 19th century America.  It is the story of a cursed traveller winding his way through the darkness, and the woman that calls him into the light.  A New Day at Midnight is a complete novel at approximately 92,000 words.

Merik Hearne, scarred lord of the Romani, amassed a fortune with only one goal in mind.  To buy Hannah Worthington’s hand and possess the woman that betrayed him.  When he succeeds, everything about her threatens his resolution to see her pay for transgressions past.  When she makes the mistake of inferring he is more monster than man, it only strengthens his desire to show her how close she is to the truth; that her end is the price of his new beginning.

Since the night she lost the man she loved to a vicious act of cruelty; Hannah did not see men in the same way.  In fact, she chose not to see them at them at all.  Not until Merik Hearne rode into town to claim her in exchange for a purse of gold.  Despite his dark demeanor, she begins to see that something beautiful might lie beneath, something that belongs only to her.  It sets her on a course to determine the angle from which the great lord plays… a task she must meet before his demons consume them both.