RSS Feed Print
Book trailers: What works? What doesn't?
Marshall R Maresca
Posted: Thursday, June 23, 2011 2:53 PM

Book trailers are a phenomenon that have fascinated me for some time.  This shouldn't be much of a surprise, as I am a writer and have a degree in film production.  I think, in theory, book trailers can be an excellent method of promotion.

Theory and practice are two different things. 

I've almost never seen a book trailer where my reaction scored higher than, "Well, I don't NOT want to read the book now."  I can't think of seeing one where it actually enticed me.

Part of why is so few book trailers (at least, of those that I've seen) use the medium effectively.  The book trailer should do the same sort of job as the cover and blurb... but not the exact same job.  Because the medium is not the same.  It's video, you need image and motion and sound.  Some give me little more than words on the screen, words that I might as well read on the back of the book.  That's not a trailer, it's just dictating my reading speed.

I just posted in my blog about this, with an extra enticement.  I'm going to start reviewing book trailers.  Send yours to me, and I'll break it down.

http://blog.mrmaresca.com/2011/06/book-trailers.html

GinaColeWrites
Posted: Tuesday, June 28, 2011 3:12 AM

Ooh, this is a great topic! I'll be following your blog for more insight on this... I don't yet have a book trailer, but I hope I can snag some pointers from these reviews!

Gina
Marshall R Maresca
Posted: Wednesday, June 29, 2011 10:45 PM

Thanks! I think there is an astounding amount of bad advice regarding book trailers out there, and people should strive to raise the bar.
stephmcgee
Posted: Wednesday, June 29, 2011 10:55 PM